In one of our previous guides, we showed you a button with a paintbrush icon near the upper right corner of your map. This button allows you to change your map style and/or add layers to your map.

How to Add and Remove Map Layers in ShipAtlas

Step 1

Make sure your screen shows the map page in ShipAtlas.

Click on the paintbrush button near the upper right corner under the search bar.

The map layer pop-up will appear on your screen

Step 2

Choose the map layer/ you prefer by clicking on it.

You will know a layer is added because it will get highlighted in the tab.

You can choose between ECA/SECA, INL, Polar Codes, Sea Ice, Canals, EEZ, Load Lines, and Anti Shipping Activities.

Once you have clicked on your preferred map layer close the pop-up by dragging it down or clicking behind it.

An example of the ECA/SECA layer:

Note that you can add multiple map layers at a time!

Just click on the one you want to add.

An example of the Load Lines layer and the Sea Ice layer:

Step 3

Explore the different map layers!

Step 4

If you want to remove or change the layers, open the map style, and layers pop-up once again by clicking on the paintbrush button under the search bar.

To remove your layers, click on the same layers that are already added to your map.

You will know they are removed when you see the blue highlight around them disappear.

Once you have removed them, close the pop-up by dragging it down or clicking behind it.

The Purpose of Map Layers


ECA/SECA stands for Emission Control Area/Sulphur Emission Control Area.

As of 1st January 2020, International Maritime Organization (IMO) enforced the Sulphur Emission Regulations which require that all ships shall reduce their Sulphur emissions from 3,5 % to 0,5% in all of the world's seas.

The implementation of the global 0.50% Sulphur limit has not changed the requirements applicable to the four ECAs designated under Regulation 14 of MARPOL Annex VI. So in the North American, US Caribbean, the North Sea, and the Baltic 0,10% Sulphur limit continues to apply. In addition, several countries have implemented even stronger limits in their ECA/SECA zones. To find the applicable regulation just click on the highlighted sone to get the specific requirements.


The International Navigating Limits (INL) define the geographical limits within which ships can operate without incurring additional insurance premiums from hull and machinery and other relevant underwriters.

Note that you can click on each area to get specific information about the limits.


Clicking on this icon highlights the area covered by IMO´s polar water codes

which set rules for ships operating in this area.

Sea Ice

Clicking this icon will give you the limits of the current sea ice.

It is updated from NSIDC daily.


Clicking canals highlights important canals on the map.

When clicking the highlighted canal in the map you will see the applicable restrictions.


This shows you the Exclusive Economic Zone at sea of each country.

Load Lines

Clicking the applicable load line zone gives you the dates when

there are deadweight restrictions in each zone.

Anti Shipping Activity

Turning on this layer will highlight areas where anti-shipping incidents have taken place in the last 365 days. Clicking on each highlight will give you a description of the incident.

Next step

Congratulations! 🎉

You now know how to add map layers to your ShipAtlas map.

In the next guide, you learn more about the vessel segments in ShipAtlas!

Did this answer your question?